Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gorgas Memorial Library: Welcome

Welcome to Gorgas Memorial Library's LibGuide, serving the researchers at Walter Reed Army Institute of Research (WRAIR), the Naval Medical Research Center (NMRC), and their overseas labs. Use the search bar to the right to find topics of interest.

Announcements

  •  The library is minimally staffed Monday-Thursday, 7:45am-4:30pm. The library is open 24/7 onsite for users with a WRAIR or NMRC badge, and many services are available virtually. Please see our COVID-19 Operating Guide for more information.
  • Since the transition to widespread telework, users have reported various issues when attempting to access library resources. If you cannot access content on a publisher site or commercial database that you believe the library subscribes to, click on this tip sheet for help with common errors and workarounds:

Search PubMed for Full Text

Use GML's specially configured link for PubMed or the search box below for a seamless PubMed search experience. WIth this link, you will see a button to retrieve "Full Text at GML" on every article record. If we have access to full text, you will be redirected to the PDF. If not, you will be redirected to a pre-populated interlibrary loan request form. 

TIP: Put quotation marks (" ") around your article title to search for it as one phrase.

Search PubMed:     

Find E-Resources

Search for GML's e-journal holdings and specific e-book titles via SFX E-Resources Finder. Type in a title or subject area into the boxes below. You can also browse by subject area, or by specific publisher.

Browse our entire A-Z List of Databases to find clinical, biomedical, and drug information on your research topic.

Tips for finding Full Text Articles in PubMed and Google Scholar.

Access full text biomedical e-books in ClinicalKey,ScienceDirect, and STATRef collections.

New Journals

GML Newsletter

GML presents GML News, a new quarterly newsletter showcasing the latest library news, services, and resources. Click here to access the current issue, Q2 2021.

Past Issues

EndNote 20 Upgrade

EndNote 20 is now available. WRAIR users can submit an installation request, or to upgrade from X9, via the Global Service Center. NMRC users can contact the NMRC IT Help Desk to find out which version is available.

EndNote 20 Guide (Clarivate)

Contact Us

  Email

usarmy.detrick.medcom-wrair.mbx.gorgas-inter-library-loan@mail.mil

  Address

503 Robert Grant Ave, Silver Spring, Maryland, 20910, Bldg. 503, Rm 1W60

  Hours

M-F 0730-1630

  Access Note

Patrons with a WRAIR/NMRC ID card may access the library at any time. Outside visitors must obtain permission prior to visiting GML.

  Remote Access to Resources

Request an EZProxy username and password to access GML e-resources from at home or offsite. Access may be granted to users at WRAIR, NMRC, AFRIMS, or one of their research units or directorates.

  Interlibrary Loan

Submit an Interlibrary Loan request

  Literature Search Request Form

Submit a request for an Expert Literature Search

GML Facts and Figures

  20,263 E-Journal Titles

  34,877 E-Books

  12,809 Database Searches

 1,582 Reference Questions Answered

  1,802 Hours Spent on Complex Research Requests

*Data from FY2019-20

Mission Statement

Welcome to the Gorgas Memorial Library (GML), serving the WRAIR and NMRC communities. We are here to support the innovative researchers and staff members who are working to improve the lives of our Service Members both at home and abroad. Our mission is to provide seamless access to relevant resources in a timely manner, regardless of the original format or location. GML resources and services are available to scientists and staff located in Silver Spring and in the associated overseas labs.

Gorgas Memorial Library | Walter Reed Army Institute of Research (WRAIR), also serving Naval Medical Research Center (NMRC) | Bldg. 503, Rm 1W60 | 503 Robert Grant Ave | Silver Spring, MD, 20910, | 301-319-9555 | usarmy.detrick.medcom-wrair.mbx.gorgas-inter-library-loan@mail.mil | Open Monday-Friday, 0730-1630